Astrology Glossary Part I

Astrology glossary is here for our readers. It covers both Western Astrology  and Vedic Astrology. Astrology Glossary will be updated regularly.

Please find many free astrological tools and horoscopes at which help analyze individual horoscope on a daily basis .

These free tools are:

  • Daily Sun Sign horoscope,
  • Daily Moon Sign Horoscope,
  • Your Sun Sign, Moon Sign, Nakshatra
  • Your Vedic Horoscope,
  • Daily Personal transits based on your birth chart,
  • Vedic time cycle dasa mahadasa,
  • Create your life history for astrological analysis
  • Reading material to interpret your Transits and Horoscope in depth

It is a set of astrological tools that we believe you will love and learn to use more and more to feel the power of predictive astrology. Please login at our member site to access these facilities.



An antiquated term that continues to be used to describe a planet that has unfavorable aspects; squares, oppositions, and quincunxes.

Air Signs:

Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius.

Anaretic degree:

The final degree (29th degree) of any sign; also known as the degree of fate. Many astrologers believe that signs in the 29th degree – especially water signs – lend a considerable measure of intuitive, empathic and psychic ability to the native with planets in this degree.


The lines of the chart wheel which lie at 0 degrees (the ascendant), 90 degrees (the I.C.), 180 degrees (the descendant), and 270 degrees (the M.C.). These are major points in a chart and represent Cardinal Qualities.


A cardinal point in the horoscope

Angular Houses:

Houses 1, 4, 7, and 10 of the horoscope, which are positioned closest to the charts primary angles; ascendant, nadir, descendant, and Midheaven.

Arabic Parts:

Sensitive points on a chart developed by Arabic astrologers. These are calculated by adding the positions of two factors in the chart (e.g., Moon and Ascendant) and subtracting the position of a third factor. (e.g., Sun).

Aquarian Age:

A time period of approximately 2,160 years where the influence of Aquarius is prominent.  An astrological age lasts for approximately 2,160 years and precesses or moves backward through the Zodiac.  Also known as Precession.  Some astrologers believe that the Age of Aquarius starts at approximately the new millennium.  However, because of the discrepancy inflicted on the calendar by Pope Gregory, who gave us the Gregorian Calendar (which we still use today), the original timing was temporarily deviated from.  Only within the last fifty years have astrologers and other scholars realized this discrepancy and added back the years that were lost, hence moving up the advent of the Aquarian Age to approximately the year 2050.


An angular measurement between two celestial planets or points.  Also referred to as an orb.


The zodiac sign appearing on the horizon at the natal time and place of birth. It is also referred to as the Rising Sign, and is placed on the cusp of the first house. Its position by degree of the zodiac is an important factor not yet fully appreciated by many Astrologers. The rising sign is very important because it is associated with the pattern of our external behavior or the way we actually are and present ourselves.


The angular distances between planets, points, or house cusps in the horoscope. The lines drawn between two points and the center of a chart form the angle (in degrees) of the aspect. Specific aspects are the conjunction, sextile, square, trine, quincunx , and opposition. Other less commonly used aspects include; semi-sextile, semisquare, sesquiquadrate, quintile and biquintile.

Asteroids (also called minor planets):

Asteroids are thousands of small bodies, located mainly between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter, and which are considered by astronomy to be part of the Van Allen Belt of asteroids. Some Asteroids are outside of this orbit, e.g. Chiron is between the orbits of Saturn and Uranus, and is actually the only astronomical body that has an elliptical or oval orbit, where the other bodies have circular orbits. The four major Asteroids are Ceres, Juno, Pallas and Vesta, although Eros (UB313) is another asteroid that is frequently used by many astrologers in natal interpretations.


An original model or prototype, in which anyone who is similar is considered to be a personification, representation or copy of the original or archetype.


There are six axes passing through the wheel of a horoscope. They are: houses 1 and 7–self/other, houses 2 and 8–values/resources, houses 3 and 9 communication/ transportation and travel, houses 4 and 10–heredity axis, houses 5 and 11–personal creativity/community volunteerism, houses 6 and 12–service/solitude. The nature of the planets on these axes can suggest the way an individual integrates into the affairs of the axes.


The study of the influence of celestial bodies on any behavior, activity, or condition on Earth.

Receive Free Predictions for Special Life Events, Horoscopes, Daily Transits and Much More!

Translate »